Good or Evil? It’s human choice

I wrote this on the morning after watched Korean variety show “Problematic Man”. On 170th episode, it discussed about journalism world’s, how a photograph could be interpreted differently.

What do you see? how would you interpret this photo? Which one is the good man and which one is the evil man?

Eddie Adams whom took the photo regretted his choice published this photo, because he made General Loan looked like a bad person in this photo, which was actually, he did his job to sentence criminal to death.

“Loan killed a Viet Cong with a gun, but I killed Loan with a camera” ~ Eddie Adams

This photo and story made me wonder about our lives. How easily we judge people without knowing the full stories about them. I have a faith that human born with good nature. But along the way, we grow up, we learn many thing, we adapt, we change… our nature and our surrounding blend to shape our mindset about life and about right or wrong.

I can’t blame people who think that they are good people, it’s natural. We see other faults clearly and rarely see our own faults. That’s humanity. There were no perfection in human souls. Still we are yearning to be better person.

The point is… me myself felt everything changed rapidly in these two years. I could say, I’m not the same anymore, especially my mindset. There were many times in the past, that I proudly felt deep in my heart, that I’m good person. I never ever once think bad about others. and… it changed. Now, I can say I’m not “pure” anymore. It’s really uncomfortable for me, because I knew I’m not in “good” mindset, yet I can’t do anything about it. I can’t blame my job, my new position, or my surrounding. It’s me myself who lost.

I don’t want to share about humanity in big scale, because on my case, me myself realized that human is easily swayed. I already lost my faith to find my old me, but I still believe, I still learning…and I just wish that the way I will take is the right way.

What do you think about it? Are you good or evil?

Leave a comment